top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMAReA Centre

MAReA presents: "Around the Mediterranean in Eight Days: a bioarchaeological journey"

Updated: Jun 9, 2022

Dear All,


We are delighted to announce the first series of MAReA lectures titled “Around the Mediterranean in Eight Days: a bioarchaeological journey”. Talks will take place online (via Zoom) every Wednesday at 4-5pm (CET), from May 4 to June 28 2022. Lectures will be given by international researchers that will accompany us across multiple bioarchaeological topics and methodologies in a journey through the Mediterranean past. Please find below a flyer including a list of topics, speakers, dates, and the recurring zoom link.


Attendance is free and open to all!


For enquiries and further information, please contact Silvia Soncin (silvia.soncin@uniroma1.it) or Carlo Cocozza (cocozza@shh.mpg.de). We look forward to having you on board!


 

Join Zoom Meeting

https://uniroma1.zoom.us/j/83037924965?pwd=UnlRNlFwbklaYVhCS2pUN1NMVkU4Zz09

Meeting ID: 830 3792 4965

Passcode: 503532

 

CALENDAR

  • Wednesday 4 May 2022 4-5pm (CET) Maria Fontanals (University of York, maria.fontanals-coll@york.ac.uk) – High-resolution palaeodietary reconstruction using Compound Specific Isotope Analysis: The case of the Mesolithic site of El Collado

  • Wednesday 11 May 2022 4-5pm (CET) Efrossini Vika (University of York, efrossini.vika@york.ac.uk) - Applying a compound-specific protocol to refine Aegean paleodiets in the Bronze Age: il buono, il brutto, il cattivo

  • Wednesday 18 May 2022 4-5pm (CET) Ricardo Fernandes (Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History, University of Oxford and Masaryk University, fernandes@shh.mpg.de) – Isotopic study of ancient Athenian lifeways

  • Wednesday 25 May 2022 4-5pm (CET) Valeria Amoretti (Parco Archeologico di Pompei, valeria.amoretti@beniculturali.it) – Pompeii from the inside out. The activities of the Laboratorio di Ricerche Applicate del Parco Archeologico di Pompei

  • Wednesday 1 June 2022 4-5pm (CET) Alice Di Muro (University of York and Universitat autònoma de Barcelona, alice@palaeome.org) – An isotopic approach to understanding dietary practice within the cemetery populations at Late Antique Bulla Regia, Tunisia

  • Wednesday 15 June 2022 4-5pm (CET) Alessandra Sperduti (Museo delle Civiltà and Università “L’Orientale” di Napoli, alessandra.sperduti@beniculturali.it) and Alissa Mittnik (Harvard University and Max Planck–Harvard Research Center for the Archaeoscience of the Ancient Mediterranean, alissa_mittnik@hms.harvard.edu) – Stones, bones, babies and DNA. The case of the atypical funerary ritual from the Late Antique Peltuinum theater (Italy)

  • Wednesday 22 June 2022 4-5pm (CET) Leïa Mion (CNRS, LAMPEA, mion.leia@gmail.com) and Tatiana André (Aix Marseille Université, tatiana.andre@univ-amu.fr) – Reconstructing fishing activities and marine environments of medieval Provence using stable isotopes

  • Tuesday 28 June 2022 4-5pm (CET) Jasmine Lundy (University of York, jasmine.lundy@york.ac.uk) - Investigating culinarily habits in medieval Sicily and beyond: Organic residue analysis of medieval ceramic containers




271 views

Comments


bottom of page